Breaking News
Opposition yet to decide on seat-sharing

Opposition yet to decide on seat-sharing

Opposition yet to decide on seat-sharingAIADMK has already appointed election in-charges

Opposition parties in the State rallying behind the principal opposition, DMK, are yet to exchange notes over whether to seek seats for the soon expected bypolls in 20 Assembly constituencies. While the ruling AIADMK has already appointed election in-charges for the bypolls, the allies in the DMK camp are yet to sit together and decide on whether to seek allocation of seats or allow the DMK to field candidates based on the 2016 Assembly election scenario.

Tamil Nadu Congress Committee (TNCC) president Su. Thirunavukkarasar said that the party had not decided on the issue so far.

“The normal practice is that whichever party contested seats earlier in a constituency would contest again in case of a bypoll. But once we sit for a meeting we will discuss and the final decision will be announced by DMK president M.K. Stalin,” he said.

When asked whether the party would like to contest in Sholingur — where it had contested unsuccessfully in the 2016 Assembly polls — Mr. Thirunavukkarasar said: “We would like to contest in Sholingur. This time, there are more number of seats.”


CPI (M) State secretary K. Balakrishnan said his party is yet to decide on whether or not to seek seats for the bypolls.

“On November 10, we have a meeting of the party’s executive committee and we will discuss the issue on that day. AIADMK and the BJP should be defeated and that is what we stand for. We are also against the party led by T.T.V. Dhinakaran,” he said.

Referring to the possibility of an appeal against the High Court order by the 18 disqualified MLAs, Mr. Balakrishnan said: “If they appeal, then the Election Commission of India might delay the conduct of polls. So it is too early to think about seat sharing now.”

CPI too was on the same page. The party’s State secretary R. Mutharasan said: “Our primary aim to bring down the AIADMK government. As for seat sharing, we are yet to decide on it. Once a clear picture emerges about the bypolls in the 18 constituencies, we will decide.”

MMK leader M.H. Jawahirullah said: “We will discuss with other parties in the alliance about seat sharing.”

MDMK leader Vaiko could not be reached for comment.

DMK treasurer Duraimurugan said party president M.K. Stalin would take a final decision on any issue.

Check Also

आग की चपेट में 56 परिवार के 150 लोग बेघर, खुले आसमान के नीचे बसेरा ।

बिहार, पुर्णिया के बायसी अनुमंडल अंतर्गत बायसी प्रखंड के ग्राम मथुरा पुर में 150 घर …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *