All for Joomla All for Webmasters
April 24, 2018
You can use WP menu builder to build menus

3 Ministers’ children get Congress ticketYathindra, son of CM Siddaramaiah, to contest from Varuna

Three children of sitting MLAs and Congress leaders have been given ticket for the upcoming Assembly polls, adding to a longer list of Congress ticket holders who will be fighting the election along with their fathers.

The new entrants include Yathindra, son of Chief Minister Siddaramaiah, from Varuna which was won by the latter with a margin of nearly 30,000 votes in 2013.

Minister T.B. Jayachandra’s son Santhosh Jayachandra has been given ticket from Chikkanayakahalli in Tumakuru district where Congress got barely 10,000 votes in the 2013 polls.

Similarly, Home Minister Ramalinga Reddy’s daughter Soumya Reddy has been given ticket from Jayanagar, against B.N. Vijay Kumar, incumbent BJP MLA.

Roopa gets Kolar

Former Union Railways Minister K.H. Muniyappa’s daughter Roopa Shridar has been given ticket from Kolar Gold Fields, a constituency where the Congress has not won in over four decades.

Incidentally, Sunil Bose, son of Public Works Minister H.C. Mahadevappa, whose name had been doing the rounds, has not been given ticket in the present list.

Byarati Suresh, brother of B.S. Basavaraj, K.R. Puram MLA, has been given ticket from Hebbal.

Kirtana R.G., widow of recently deceased Rudra Gowda, Belur MLA, has also been given ticket.

Father-son sitting MLAs include S. Mallikarjuna and his father Shamanur Shivashankarappa fighting in two constituencies in Davanagere; M. Krishnappa and Priya Krishna contesting in constituencies in Bengaluru.